E PLURIBUS MORON

Keep your government hands off my medicare!

Oscar nomination examination

leave a comment »

The nominations for the 2012 Academy Awards came out today! I hope they include Muammar Qaddafi in the “In Memorium” section of the telecast for his cameo in the movie “The Babysitters Club”…Anyway, lots of surprising stuff! I mean it’s been a pretty weak year for films (again) and a lot of these nominations feel pretty forced. Still, let’s examine the juicier nuggets:

-Jonah Hill got nominated for Best Supporting Actor! Although it was for his work in Moneyball and not The Sitter, which I think myself and all fans of movies about foul-mouthed 8-year-olds think is APPALLING.

-Speaking of weird comedians getting Oscar nods, I cant believe Kristen Wiig got a nomination for best original screenplay! I mean I can, that movie was pretty funny, I just dread the future ads for her next straight from SNL bomb which will go something like this: “From Academy Award nominatee Kristen Wiig comes Gilly: The Movie.

-The Best Actress race is pretty wide open with a lot of potential winners. I for one would like to see this settled with a jailhouse-style shiv fight between Meryl Streep and Glenn Close.

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close got a best picture nomination? That movie is supposed to be Extremely Terrible and Incredibly Insulting. There wasn’t an Adam Sandler movie that deserved that spot?

-A film called Undefeated was nominated for Best Documentary. Sadly, it’s a film about high school sports and not the Sarah Palin propoganda piece about her being undeafeated in her 2008 presidential, er, defeat. Liberal Hollywood! I curse you!

I’ll see you all at the Awards on February 26th: I assure you I’ll be blogging. Hammered. In a sequined gown.

Written by Your Benevolent Editor

January 24, 2012 at 2:05 pm

Posted in Show Business

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

