E PLURIBUS MORON

Keep your government hands off my medicare!

Trademark my heart

leave a comment »

What’s the greatest source of injustice and stupid hypocrisy in America today? Race? Class? Oh no, it’s a subject that’s much sexier and much deeper rooted in the American experience: trademark law! Are you still with me or have you changed the website to TMZ yet? Well don’t because two recent stories have shown how capricious the idea of trademarking a phrase can be.

The Smoking Gun reported today that the Jersey Shore’s Mike Sorrentino, a.k.a. the Situation, was denied his application to trademark the phrase “the Situation” and now his clothing line is in peril. First of all, oh my god what am I gonna wear now?!? Secondly, if any group of Americans have degraded themselves enough to deserve that stupid trademark, it’s the cast of Herpes Live The Jersey Shore.

Meanwhile, it was recently revealed that Facebook is trying to trademark the word “face”. What? Am I gonna get sued each time I talk about what’s between my hair and my neck? Soon we’re bound to hear “Bitch I’ma slap you in the Facebook”. Facebook is apparently also trying to copyright the word “Like” as well, which will no doubt bankrupt every 15 year old in the country. Of course because they’re Facebook and they already control our lives, I don’t doubt that they’ll be successful, no matter how stupid trademarking a part of everyone’s body is.

The arc of the universe is long my friends, but it bends to trademark justice.

Written by Your Benevolent Editor

September 10, 2010 at 11:49 am

Leave a Reply

